Nicholas Appert Medal

The Nicolas Appert Award has been awarded every year since 1942 by the Chicago Section of the Institute of Food Technologists.

Given for lifetime and consistent achievement in food technology, it is named after Nicolas Appert, the French inventor of airtight food preservation.

Award winners receive a bronze medal with a front view of Appert from the Chicago Section of IFT and a USD 5000 honorarium from IFT. This is considered one of the highest honors in food technology.

The nominee must have made consistent - and essentially lifetime -contributions to food science and technology. Factors of personality or achievement outside the field of food technology cannot be considered.

1942 William V. Cruess

1943 Samuel C. Prescott

1944 C.E. Browne

1945 A.W. Bitting

1946 C.H.Bailey

1947 C. Olin Ball

1948 C.A. Elvehjem

1949 Roy C. Newton

1950 Thomas M. Rector

1951 A.E. Stevenson

1952 Edward M. Chace

1953 Victor Conquest

1954 Charles N. Frey

1955 Charles G. King

1956 Bernard E. Proctor

1957 Emil M. Mrak

1958 William F. Geddes

1959 Berton S. Clark

1960 Ernst H. Wiegand

1961 Helmut C. Diehl

1962 Arnold Kent Balls

1963 Karl F. Meyer

1964 Gail M. Dack

1965 Harold W. Schultz

1966 Maynard A. Josly

1967 Michael J. Copley

1968 Donald K. Tressler

1969 Edwin M. Foster

1970 Samuel A. Goldblith

1971 Reid T. Milner

1972 John C. Ayres

1973 Hans Lineweaver

1974 George F. Stewart

1975 Ernest J. Briskey

1976 Amihud Kramer

1977 Richard L. Hall

1978 Jasper Guy Woodroof

1979 F.J. Francis

1980 Evan F. Binkerd

1981 Bernard S. Schweigert

1982 Clinton O. Chichester

1983 Steven S. Chang

1984 John J. Powers

1985 Alina S. Szczesniak

1986 Marcus Karel

1987 Elmer H. Marth

1988 Owen R. Fennema

1989 Fergus M. Clydesdale

1990 Myron Solberg

1991 Raymond J. Moshy

1992 Irving J. Pflug

1993 Wilbur A. Gould

1994 Roy L. Whistler

1995 Philip E. Nelson

1996 Michael P. Doyle

1997 H. C. Rudolf Heiss

1998 Theodore P. Labuza

1999 Robert G. Cassens

2000 Aaron L. Brody

2001 Adolph S. (Al) Clausi

2002 Daniel F. Farkas

2003 Dietrich Knorr

2004 Larry R. Beuchat

2005 Gustavo V. Barbosa-Cánovas

2006 George E. Inglett

2007 Todd R. Klaenhammer

2008 Gilbert A. Leveille

2009 Daryl Lund

2010 R. Paul Singh

2011 Dr. Malcolm Bourne

2012 Casimir Akoh

2013 Kenneth R. Swartzel

2014 Patrick Dunne

2015 Stephen Taylor

2016 E. Allen Foegeding

2017 Jozef Kokini

2018 Dennis R. Heldman

2019 Dr. Julian McClements

Nominations are managed by IFT and more information can be found at:

> Nicolas Appert Award nomination

New Professionals

Company Page

Group page

We use cookies and we also use Google Analytics. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies. You can view more info about this and personal data on our Privacy Policy page.