Each year the Chicago Section IFT recognizes an outstanding volunteer who has distinguished him or herself in the service of the Chicago Section IFT by awarding them the Ellery H. Harvey Service Award. This award is named after the founding chair of the Chicago Section IFT from 1941 whose passion for the profession helped form the first and largest section of the Institute of Food Technologist.

The purpose of the award is to recognize an outstanding CSIFT Member who has distinguished himself or herself in the service of the Chicago Section IFT. It is presented every year. Only Chicago Section Members are eligible excluding jury and elected officers for the year.

The award shall consist of a $200 honorarium, plaque, and expense of the awardee to the meeting at which the award is presented.

The winners are announced in April. Winners are recognized at the May Dinner Meeting.

Nominations open February 14th - March 31st, 2019 Click the "Nominate a Member" tab above to begin.

1975 Elwood F.  Caldwell

1976  Dorothy Ann Huber

1977  Robert E. Taylor

1978  Donald L. Davies

1979  James A. Freck

1980  Luci Landberg

1981  Stan Tolin

1982  Byron Shinn

1983  Joachim Staackmann

1984  Charles Radanovics

1985  F. Glenn Connick

1988  Ralph S. Wirebaugh

1989  Gerald Cooper

1990  Dean Duxbury

1991  Linda Kragt

1992  David Strietelmeier

1994  Charles Lourich

1995  Joseph Stout

1996  William Klinker

1997  David LeVally

1998  Fred Maass

1999  Krista Ruhnke

2000  Kristine Campbell

2002  Pat Sullivan

2003  Joy Engels

2004  Tricia Giron

2005  Linda Perucca

2006  Susan Monckton

2007  Mona Reinhard

2008  David Mehnert

2009  Matthew Hutchinson

2010  Daniel Best

2011  Anna Lovis

2012  Jan Miller

2013  Manoj Shah

2014  Uwe Nienaber

2015  John Fenstermacher & Michael Hosler

2016  John Chambers

2017  Nancy Moriarity

2018  Laura Saran

2019  Joy Dell'Aringa

2020  Ivonne Litwin

If you know of someone who has made great contributions to the Section please use the online application or Word document application to nominate and help recognize them for all their efforts. This is our time to say THANK YOU!

Click here to complete the online application.

Nominations open February 14th - March 31st, 2019

The following information is required:

  1. Contact information: Name, Telephone, Email
  2. Justification: Describe reasons why the nominee should receive the award
  3. Your name, phone, email


New Professionals

Company Page

Group page

We use cookies and we also use Google Analytics. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies. You can view more info about this and personal data on our Privacy Policy page.