Nicolas Appert Award

Nicholas Appert Medal

The Nicolas Appert Award has been awarded every year since 1942 by the Chicago Section of the Institute of Food Technologists.

Given for lifetime and consistent achievement in food technology, it is named after Nicolas Appert, the French inventor of airtight food preservation.

Award winners receive a bronze medal with a front view of Appert from the Chicago Section of IFT and a USD 5000 honorarium from IFT. This is considered one of the highest honors in food technology.


Nominate a Member

The nominee must have made consistent and essentially lifetime contributions to food science and technology. Factors of personality or achievement outside the field of food technology cannot be considered.

Nominations are managed by IFT and more information can be found on IFT’s Nicolas Appert Award page.

Past Awardees

1943 Samuel C. Prescott
1944 C.E. Browne
1945 A.W. Bitting
1946 C.H.Bailey
1947 C. Olin Ball
1948 C.A. Elvehjem
1949 Roy C. Newton
1950 Thomas M. Rector
1951 A.E. Stevenson
1952 Edward M. Chace
1953 Victor Conquest
1954 Charles N. Frey
1955 Charles G. King
1956 Bernard E. Proctor
1957 Emil M. Mrak
1958 William F. Geddes
1959 Berton S. Clark
1960 Ernst H. Wiegand
1961 Helmut C. Diehl
1962 Arnold Kent Balls
1963 Karl F. Meyer
1964 Gail M. Dack
1965 Harold W. Schultz
1966 Maynard A. Josly
1967 Michael J. Copley
1968 Donald K. Tressler
1969 Edwin M. Foster

1970 Samuel A. Goldblith
1971 Reid T. Milner
1972 John C. Ayres
1973 Hans Lineweaver
1974 George F. Stewart
1975 Ernest J. Briskey
1976 Amihud Kramer
1977 Richard L. Hall
1978 Jasper Guy Woodroof
1979 F.J. Francis
1980 Evan F. Binkerd
1981 Bernard S. Schweigert
1982 Clinton O. Chichester
1983 Steven S. Chang
1984 John J. Powers
1985 Alina S. Szczesniak
1986 Marcus Karel
1987 Elmer H. Marth
1988 Owen R. Fennema
1989 Fergus M. Clydesdale
1990 Myron Solberg
1991 Raymond J. Moshy
1992 Irving J. Pflug
1993 Wilbur A. Gould
1994 Roy L. Whistler
1995 Philip E. Nelson

1996 Michael P. Doyle
1997 H. C. Rudolf Heiss
1998 Theodore P. Labuza
1999 Robert G. Cassens
2000 Aaron L. Brody
2001 Adolph S. (Al) Clausi
2002 Daniel F. Farkas
2003 Dietrich Knorr
2004 Larry R. Beuchat
2005 Gustavo V. Barbosa-Cánovas
2006 George E. Inglett
2007 Todd R. Klaenhammer
2008 Gilbert A. Leveille
2009 Daryl Lund
2010 R. Paul Singh
2011 Dr. Malcolm Bourne
2012 Casimir Akoh
2013 Kenneth R. Swartzel
2014 Patrick Dunne
2015 Stephen Taylor
2016 E. Allen Foegeding
2017 Jozef Kokini
2018 Dennis R. Heldman
2019 Dr. Julian McClements
2020 José M. Aguilera
2021 Eric Decker

Section Sponsors

We use cookies to keep you logged into our site between visits and we also use Google Analytics. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies. You can view more info about this and personal data on our Privacy Policy page.