Ellery H Harvey Service Award

Each year the Chicago Section IFT recognizes an outstanding volunteer who has distinguished him or herself in the service of the Chicago Section IFT by awarding them the Ellery H. Harvey Service Award. This award is named after the founding chair of the Chicago Section IFT from 1941 whose passion for the profession helped form the first and largest section of the Institute of Food Technologist.

The purpose of the award is to recognize an outstanding CSIFT Member who has distinguished himself or herself in the service of the Chicago Section IFT. It is presented every year. Only Chicago Section Members are eligible excluding jury and elected officers for the year.

The award shall consist of a $200 honorarium, plaque, and expense of the awardee to the meeting at which the award is presented.

The winners are announced in April. Winners are recognized at the May Dinner Meeting.

Nominate a Member

2020 Nominations are closed!

If you know of someone who has made great contributions to the Section please use the online application or Word document application to nominate and help recognize them for all their efforts. This is our time to say THANK YOU!

The following information is required:

  1. Contact information: Name, Telephone, Email
  2. Justification: Describe reasons why the nominee should receive the award
  3. Your name, phone, email

Past Awardees

1975  Elwood F. Caldwell
1976  Dorothy Ann Huber
1977  Robert E. Taylor
1978  Donald L. Davies
1979  James A. Freck
1980  Luci Landberg
1981  Stan Tolin
1982  Byron Shinn
1983  Joachim Staackmann
1984  Charles Radanovics
1985  F. Glenn Connick
1988  Ralph S. Wirebaugh
1989  Gerald Cooper
1990  Dean Duxbury
1991  Linda Kragt
1992  David Strietelmeier
1994  Charles Lourich
1995  Joseph Stout
1996  William Klinker
1997  David LeVally
1998  Fred Maass
1999  Krista Ruhnke

2000  Kristine Campbell
2002  Pat Sullivan
2003  Joy Engels
2004  Tricia Giron
2005  Linda Perucca
2006  Susan Monckton
2007  Mona Reinhard
2008  David Mehnert
2009  Matthew Hutchinson
2010  Daniel Best
2011  Anna Lovis
2012  Jan Miller
2013  Manoj Shah
2014  Uwe Nienaber
2015  John Fenstermacher & Michael Hosler
2016  John Chambers
2017  Nancy Moriarity
2018  Laura Saran
2019  Joy Dell’Aringa
2020  Ivonne Litwin
2021 Deborah Schodrof

Section Sponsors

We use cookies to keep you logged into our site between visits and we also use Google Analytics. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies. You can view more info about this and personal data on our Privacy Policy page.